Page 1 of 1

ERROR ParseClassPropertiesFile

Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2021 7:36 am
by LeoHD
Hey there,

i am currently trying to run my first raven Model. Unfortunately i am having some issues doing so.
The area i am looking at is a small catchment ( so just one basin ). In the RVP file i have tried to list all soil profiles that i read out of a soil property map. I have quite some soil profiles including mostly Sand and Clay.
I have set my soil profiles in the following way:

:SoilProfiles
Braunerde,1,CLAY,0.1
Bändchenpodsol,2,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2
Bändchenstaupodsol,3,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2
.
.
.
.
.
.
.


running Raven, i receive following error message:

ERROR : ParseClassPropertiesFile: bad soiltype code 'CLAY' in soil profile.


I was thinking it might has to do something with the SoilClasses? ->
:SoilClasses
:Attributes ,%SAND,%CLAY,%SILT,
:Units , none, none, none, none
:EndSoilClasses

i am happy to dicsuss that issue and hopefully solving it as well !

Cheers

Leo

Re: ERROR ParseClassPropertiesFile

Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2021 11:33 am
by jrcraig
Hi Leo,

You need to define the SoilClasses in the :SoilClasses command before you use them in the soil profiles command.

You likely want something like

:SoilClasses
:Attributes ,%SAND,%CLAY,%SILT,
:Units , none, none, none, none
CLAY, 0,1,0
SAND,1,0,1
..
:EndSoilClasses

Also, I note you are mixing multiple profiles with different numbers of soil layers. It is suggested to use a uniform number of layers, especially if employing a 'bucket-type' soil representation such as used in many of the emulated models in Raven. You can add dummy layers to the profile with zero thickness or split layers into those of the same soil type in order to retain the same basic structure you have here.

Re: ERROR ParseClassPropertiesFile

Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2021 9:23 am
by LeoHD
Hi James,

thanks for the quick answer!

Just to clarify: Do i define the soil classes in relation to the soil profiles, meaning that if I have several soil profiles I will have the same amount of soil classes as well?

Regarding the soil profiles:

Would adding the dummy/split layers look like this:

:SoilProfiles
Braunerde,3,CLAY,0.1,CLAY,0.0,CLAY,0.0
Bändchenpodsol,3,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.0
Bändchenstaupodsol,3,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2

Here i just added some layers with thickness 0 to obtain 3 layers each.

thanks again!

Re: ERROR ParseClassPropertiesFile

Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2021 5:16 am
by LeoHD
Hello again,

i just wanted to get back to his really quickly. Did you receive my last answer? I am not sure if maybe it did not get posted.

I would be really happy if you could get back to me regarding the soil profiles and classes.

Thanks in advance and cheers
Leo

Re: ERROR ParseClassPropertiesFile

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 9:39 am
by rchlumsk
Hi Leo

Sorry for the slow response. The way you have the profiles with zero thickness specified is correct (just don't forget to add :EndSoilProfiles to the block).

Let us know here if you have any further questions or issues.

Cheers,
Rob

Re: ERROR ParseClassPropertiesFile

Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2021 9:22 am
by LeoHD
Hi Rob,

thank you very much for your answer!!

Indeed, i now have a new error:

ParseClassPropertiesFile: :SoilProfiles invalid command length

i guess it maybe has something to do with the SoilClasses?

Below you can see my code. I guess they have to be adapted to each other?

:SoilClasses
:Attributes ,%SAND,%CLAY,%SILT,
:Units , none, none, none,
CLAY,0,1,0
SAND,1,0,0
:EndSoilClasses

:SoilProfiles
Braunerde,3,CLAY,0.1,CLAY,0.0,CLAY,0.0
Bändchenpodsol,3,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2,Sand,0.0
Bändchenstaupodsol,3,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2
Bändchenstagogley,3,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2
Hochmoor,3,SAND,0.15,SAND,0.15,SAND,0.0
Hangley,3,SAND,0.15,SAND,0.15,SAND,0.0
Auengley,3,SAND,0.1,SAND,0.1,CLAY,0.1
Stagnogley,3,SAND,0.1,SAND,0.1,CLAY,0.1
Pseudogley,3,SAND,0.2,CLAY,0.2,SAND,0.0
Braunerde_Podsol,3,SAND,0.1,SAND,0.1,SAND,0.1
Podsol,3,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.2,SAND,0.0
Podsol,3,SAND,0.1,SAND,0.1,SAND,0.0
Podsol_Braunerde,3,SAND,0.3,SAND,0.0,SAND,0.0
Hochmoor,3,SAND,0.5,SAND,0.5,SAND,0.0
Pordsol_Regosol,3,SAND,0.05,SAND,0.05,SAND,0.0
Podsolige_braunerde,3,SAND,0.15,SAND,0.15;SAND,0.0
Braunerde_Podsol,3,SAND,0.6,SAND,0.0,SAND,0.0
Podsol,3,SAND,0.1,SAND,0.1,SAND,0.1
Braunerde_Pseudogley,3,SAND,0.15,CLAY,0.15,CLAY,0.0
Braunerde,3,SAND,0.4,SAND,0.0,SAND,0.0
:EndSoilProfiles


Thanks again

Best

Leo

Re: ERROR ParseClassPropertiesFile

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:03 pm
by rchlumsk
Hi there

Were you able to resolve this error? If not, please let me know and consider emailing me your files directly (if you are able to), it may help expedite solving this error.

Thanks!
Rob

Re: ERROR ParseClassPropertiesFile

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2022 7:35 am
by LeoHD
Hi Rob,

unfortunately i could not solve it..

I will send you an email with my files. Thanks alot in advance!! This helps me a lot.

Cheers,

Leo